Log-inExisting Members and Subscribers

SubscribeJoin our mailing list

Membership • Become a Member of FCM

Log-outLog out of this website

Subscribe/UpdateJoin/Update mailing list

View ProfileView and Edit your Profile

Update Password • Change your Password

Dharma Talk

Dharma Teacher Fred Eppsteiner

Why Take Refuge: The Three Refuges and the Five Mindfulness Trainings

Tampa | March 16, 2014

Traditionally, students wishing to formally enter the Buddhist path take refuge and receive transmission of the five Buddhist precepts. Taking refuge means to take refuge in the Three Jewels: the Buddha, the Dharma and the Sangha. By taking refuge we express our trust in our own capacity to awaken, in the path of practice and mindful living, and in the sangha community to provide a refuge of safety, guidance, and support. The five Buddhist precepts, updated by Thich Nhat Hanh as “The Five Mindfulness Trainings,” provide the basis for living in ways that create happiness and relieve suffering for ourselves and for others. In this talk Dharma teacher Fred Eppsteiner explains the essence of the Three Refuges and Five Mindfulness Trainings, and how they can contribute to deep transformation in our lives.

Why Take Refuge?  Video | Audio

FCM Meditation & Education Center - 6501 N. Nebraska Avenue - Tampa, FL 33604
About  |  Programs  |  Community |  Calendar  | Talks  |  Resources  | Generosity |  Join  |  Login  |  Contact
Copyright © 2014 FCM Meditation & Education Center  |  Website by Nicasio LLC
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software